Does DIY’s Thesis theme for WordPress suck?

Okay, I’m not going to suggest that the incredibly popular WordPress theme called Thesis sucks, but what are you really getting?

For a premium theme, you would probably expect some gradients, rounded corners, textures, PSD files, and maybe a slider. Perhaps something that looks more like this, but costs $37 less: demo1, demo2. From a design perspective, there’s really no question in my mind that the Thesis theme is the Emperor’s new clothes.

From the load of bull**** blog:

Yep, I said to myself, that is what I want and so I bought it. Man was I disappointed. Sure it was better than most of the other themes I used, but then they were free and you expect to get a lot more features when you pay for something. The thing is that it wasn’t as completely plug and play as they made it out to be. To really get the most out of it you had to deal with Hooks; what the hell are HOOKS and why was there was no mention of this on their home page. A lot of the time you also had to deal with PHP and CSS and that was something I didn’t want to deal with.

From College Fallout:

Thesis Themes sucks big time, especially for non-coders like me.

From JammerSix:

Contrary to popular belief, Thesis isn’t very easy to use. Check out this quote from the Thesis homepage:

Not a coder? Not a problem. The Thesis option panels allow you to command your site with ease, while Thesis does all of the heavy lifting behind the scenes.”

Sounds great, right? Well… I can honestly say that Thesis is harder to work with than other other theme that I’ve ever used, at least at first. Sure, you can manage various aspects of the layout and design from within the WordPress dashboard, but that only gets you so far.

2 thoughts on “Does DIY’s Thesis theme for WordPress suck?

  1. Sire November 27, 2010 / 11:24 pm

    It doesn’t necessarily suck, but it’s not the best out there. I know because I bought it and then went out searching until I found one that is so much better.

Leave a Reply

